25.03.2019 16:24 Age: 180 days

Wagin GP crowned GP of the Year at annual awards

A solo doctor in Wagin has been announced as GP of the Year 2019 at the annual WA Country Doctors’ Awards held over the weekend by Rural Health West and the WA Country Health Service.

Dr Peter Van Maarseveen was recognised for his long career in general practice and his dedication to rural and remote communities.

Rural Health West Chief Executive Officer Tim Shackleton, said Dr Van Maarseveen was not only recognised for his excellent clinical skills but also his approachable and friendly manner.

“As the solo GP at Wagin General Practice since 2012, Dr Van Maarseveen provides incredible support to the local community and his connection with his patients is invaluable.

“Dr Maarseveen is a champion for staff development and is a great believer in upskilling his practice nurse colleagues to provide greater service to the local community.

“Dr Maarseveen is also supporting the next generation of health care providers acting as a mentor for students from the University of Western Australia (UWA) and the University of Notre Dame, inspiring the Doctors of tomorrow to play a vital role in their patients’ lives just as he has.”

WA Country Health Service Chief Executive Jeff Moffet, said Dr Van Maarseveen was a worthy winner, exemplifying just how vital GP services are to country communities.

“Dr Van Maarseveen provides incredible support to his local Wheatbelt community, often going above and beyond in his provision of care,” Mr Moffet said.

“It is important that we recognise doctors such as Dr Van Maarseveen who demonstrate a remarkable commitment to rural communities ensuring they have access to high-quality medical care.”

The GP of the Year award was sponsored by the Rural Doctors’ Association of Western Australia Inc. and was presented to Dr Van Maarseveen at a ceremony in Perth.

Several other local doctors received long-service awards at the ceremony to recognise their long-standing commitment to country communities. Dr Alan Kerrigan from John Parry Medical Centre in Narrogin was recognised for 30 years of service and doctors Wynand Breytenbach from Narrogin Hospital and Peter Lines from Narembeen Medical Centre each recognised for 20 years of service.