Registration requirements

The Health Practitioner Regulation National Law Act 2010 regulates 10 health professions, including the allied health professions: occupational therapy, medical imaging, pharmacy, physiotherapy, podiatry and psychology. For the full version of the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law (WA) Act 2010 visit the State Law Publisher.

Each health profession that is part of the scheme is represented by a national board. While the primary role of each board is to protect the public, they are also responsible for registering practitioners and students, as well as other functions, for their professions.

The Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) is the single agency that supports the Boards and the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme, and is governed by the National Law.

Practitioner registration

To be employed within Western Australia, the following professions require registration with the relevant professional board, with a renewal date of 30 November each year.

For the following disciplines, there is no legal requirement for registration. However, the WA Department of Health requires professionals to meet the eligibility requirements for membership of the relevant professional association.

Student registration

Under the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme, students are now required to be registered. Education providers will pass on details to the relevant board for registration. No fees will be require

Last Updated: 20/04/2021